About the Committees

Malheureusement, ce contenu n’est actuellement pas offert en français. Veuillez communiquer avec le Service aux membres, au 1 866 362-8585 ou avec l’institut/la section de votre région afin d’obtenir de l’aide.

The Committees are responsible for furthering our mission of advancing the insurance profession in the region through education, professional development and personal growth. All committee members generously give their time, expertise, skills and knowledge. These volunteers are indispensable to our governance as their contributions directly impact the success of all of the activities, events and seminars we organize. Members are elected for a one-year mandate, renewable for two years.

If you would like to make a difference and give back to the insurance industry, contact the Greater Toronto Area office for more information on Committees and other volunteer opportunities: GTAmail@insuranceinstitute.ca

Academic Committee

Colin George, MBA,  GDM, FCIP, CRM
Facility Association

Scott Campbell, MBA, CIP
Pembridge Insurance Company

J. Gregory Knowles, FCIP
HUB International HKMB Limited

Lynn Whitehead, CIP, CRM
TD Insurance

Faculty Sub-Committee

J. Gregory Knowles, FCIP
HUB International HKMB Limited

Camille Alexander, FCIP, CRM
Gallagher Bassett Canada Inc.

Vangie Artes

Andrea Cowan, CAIB, CRM, CIP
Marsh Canada Limited

Keith Fernandes, CIP
Desjardins General Insurance Group

John Ilias, B.A., CIP
CAA Insurance

Tyler Sartain, B.A (Hons.,), CIP
Northbridge General Insurance Corporation

Alexandra Spence
Berkley Canada

Seminar Sub-Committee

Scott Campbell, MBA, CIP
Pembridge Insurance Company

Sharon Cameron, BA, FCIP, CRM
Cameron & Associates

Alex Guthrie, CAIB
Guthrie Insurance Brokers Ltd.

Valda Jackson, FCIP, CRM
Allstate Insurance Co. of Canada

Luis Mesia
Aviva Canada

Maria Pagliaro, BA, CIP
Desjardins Insurance

Roman Sawtschuk, BA, CIP
Heartland Farm Mutual Inc.

Louie Tsafkopoulos, FCIP
Pembridge Insurance Company

Patrick Hogan
Cornell Insurance 

Special Events Sub-Committee

Lynn Whitehead, CIP, CRM
TD Insurance

Cheryl Barker
AON Reed Stenhouse Inc.

Jennifer Edgar, FCIP
AON Benfield

John Game, CIP
Sirius America Insurance Company

Christina Lee-Rotstein, CIP

Alison Porter, FCIP
SCOR Canada Reinsurance Company

Justin Sheldon, CIP
Berkley Canada

John E. Lowes Committee

Dave Shibatani, BA, FCIP


Tia Becker, CIP
Can-Sure Underwriting

Lindsay Boardman
Swiss Reinsurance Company of Canada

Michael Boodhoo, CIP

Christina Martin, CIP, CAIB, CRM
RRJ Insurance Group Ltd.

Andrea Powell, FCIP
Sovereign General Insurance Co.

Matthew Rienzo
Crawford & Company (Canada) Inc.

Past Chair
Wayne Briggs, FCIP, CRM
CNA Canada

CIP Society Ontario Council

Vice President, Professional’s Division
Bruce Palmer, MBA, FCIP CRM
Ontario Medical Association Insurance

Victor Dhir, FCIP, CRM

Gavin Mascarenhas, CIP
Travelers Canada

Jason Ponton, B.Comm, CIP, CRM
Charles Taylor Adjusting

Greg Smith, MBA, FCIP, CRM
Crawford & Company (Canada) Inc.

Ashley Davies, RKN
Intact Insurance Company

CIP Society Symposium Sub-Committee

Greg Smith, MBA, FCIP, CRM
Crawford & Company (Canada) Inc.

Elizabeth Adamson, FCIP, CRM
Marsh Canada

Jason Arbuckle, FCIP

Bryan Bedford, B.Sc., FCIP, CRM
Peel Mutual Insurance Company

Carol Gobin-Hurtado, CIP
Swiss Reinsurance Company Ltd.

Brad Keeling, FCIP
Travelers Canada

Bruce Palmer, MBA, FCIP, CRM
Ontario Medical Association Insurance

Sorin Rogojinaru, CIP
CNA Insurance

Jaime Yoon, FCIP, CRM
KNØX Industries Inc.

Learn more about the Committees and other volunteer opportunities by contacting the Greater Toronto Area office:

Livia Tersigni - Senior Manager, GTA Chapter
18 King Street East, 16th Floor, Toronto, ON M5C 1C4
(t) 416-362-8586 (e) GTAmail@insuranceinstitute.ca